RSS Feed

Workout A.D.D.

Well, I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but our last 2 dinners in the Poole household have been pretty delicious, if I do say so myself :).

Last night we had my all-time favorite: Korean ribs! Which I had marinated over night in Honey Teriyaki Sauce…

 And then I placed them on a cookie sheet and broiled them for about 12 minutes.

They came out perfect! The meat was literally falling off the bones. We had these with a side of steamed rice and green beans for me. DELICIOUS! 🙂

Then, tonight, I decided to kind of experiment with chicken wing drummettes. The only experience I really have with drummettes is when my grandma and I used to bread ’em, fry ’em, and then coat ’em in teriyaki sauce (I’m a teriyaki lover). But, we currently do not have a fryer and I didn’t really feel like frying them in the skillet. So, I cut the skin off the wings, put them in a baking dish, and covered them in our favorite BBQ sauce. I covered the baking dish and broiled the wings for about 10 minutes, took ’em out, uncovered the dish, flipped the wings, and put them back in for another 10 minutes. I flipped them once more and put them in for about 7 minutes more and they came out perfect. Obviously, because I’m a stellar cook :). Ha not really, but do I try. I ate mine with a side of steamed carrots (with spray butter-I love spray butter on my veggies. And rice. And bread. You get the point.)…

It was so good. The meat was so moist and the carrots were great…possibly because I haven’t had carrots in awhile. This is going to sound ridiculous, but I was in this phase of counting calories and I was getting so obsessive about it that I would avoid carrots. Why? Because a serving of carrots has 15 more calories than a serving of green beans. I know, ridiculous. I’ve decided to take a break from counting calories so I can just focus on being healthy and not depriving myself and I feel great!

Annnnywho, I’ve gotten a bit off track. What I wanted to talk about was the bad case of workout A.D.D. I’ve been experiencing lately. It’s a real thing, I swear. For those of you who have experienced it, you know what I’m talking about. Well today I got to the gym and just looking at the treadmills made me throw up in my mouth a little. Not really. But I was definitely NOT feelin’ the treadmills today. So, I knew a good run was not in my near future. Usually I like to go to the gym with a plan or some kind of idea of what I was going to work. Today, I had no idea. But, long amounts of time on any machine sounded awful. My normal workout routine sounded so horribly boring. I knew I was going to have to really switch it up today and keep it interesting or there was no way I was going to get a good workout in.

Ahhh, elliptical…I haven’t seen you in awhile.

So, I hopped on the elliptical for 20 minutes and increased the level every minute until 10, then worked my way back down. I used the Piniterest app on my phone to keep me entertained and it worked perfectly. That 20 minutes flew by. Thank you, Piniterest!

Next, I hopped on a treadmill (BLEGH!!) and decided to just walk at an incline. I walked at 4.0 MPH and started with a 4.0% incline but increased the incline every minute until I got to 10%. I held it there for a couple minutes and then worked my way back down. I find that when I change my speed or incline every minute or so, the time goes faster and it keeps my A.D.D. in check. I also used my Piniterest app on this one. I’m tellin’ you, I needed all the entertainment I could get.

Then,  I headed upstairs because I felt like doing a little strength training. But, I didn’t want to do one of my usual routines. So, I decided on working legs and shoulders (random, I know). My workout went like so:

-Alternating dumbbell lunges- 15 reps

-Lateral shoulder raise- 20 reps

-Plie squats with dumbbell- 15 reps

-Dumbbell military press- 20 reps

-Dumbbell squats-15 reps

-Front raises- 20 reps

I completed this circuit once and then headed back to the cardio room where I completed 10 minutes on the Stairmaster. The Stairmaster and I are not friends, but I hadn’t done it in awhile and today was a day of “switching it up”…(and How I Met Your Mother was on, love that show). Finally, I went back upstairs and completed one more set of the circuit above and then decided to call it a day. All in all, it was a great workout that I was able to do even with my A.D.D. in full gear :). I may also attempt the 1000 Rep Workout tonight from the bodyrock website: http://www.bodyrock.tv/2011/11/28/it-will-rain-sweat-1000-rep-workout/. Orrrr maybe that can wait til tomorrow.

I also wanted to take a second a brag about my mommy. A couple of months ago she would have sworn up and down that she can’t run 5 miles. Well, guess what? She is now signed up for a half marathon and she completed 8 miles yesterday!! Way to go, Mommy!!

And so, I leave you with this…

Have a great night everyone! Tomorrow is Friday!:)

About Brittany

Hello :). I'm Brittany! I'm a 20-something-year-old serving in the Air Force stumbling my way through life. I blog as a means of trying to figure myself out. Enjoy the journey:).

One response »

  1. Bittany/B Bots/ B Pizzle/ BP You’re awesome. Start blogging again. You are the best

    Reply

Leave a Reply

