RSS Feed

Well Hey, Stranger! Where Ya’ From?

This question should be a no brainer. However, it has turned into quite the debacle in my marriage. I need to let things go. I know this. But for some reason, I just can’t. Scott knows this. So what does he do? He feeds into it! Sometimes he’ll text me “Baby, I’m so board” because he knows it drives me nuts. B-O-R-E-D! B-O-R-E-D! Or, when we were in Hawaii, he kept referring to boogie boarding as buggy boarding. I could actually feel the hairs stand up on the back of my neck…Okay, no I couldn’t, but still – as my bff and life partner (possibly eternal partner – yikes!) he finds my pet peeves hilarious and will stop at nothing to get a slight rise. Oh my, I did marry my father (my dad did this to my mom all the time).

Anyhow, the latest and greatest argument we have is all based on the seemingly simple question “where are you from?” Do you know what he answers? Idaho. IDAHO! This drives me crazy because, in my mind, he is most definitely NOT from Idaho. He was born and raised for 20 years of his life in Utah.  He moved to Idaho for less than a year, in which he then joined the military and spent the rest of his life in Germany, Nebraska, Iraq, Kyrgystan, Japan, and finally just settled down in Idaho as of last November. That does not constitute being from somewhere. “Hey, Sarah, where you from, girl?” “Oh, hey! Yeah, I’m from Nebraska.” I am indeed from Nebraska. I was born there, moved to California for a year, Maryland for a little over a year or two, then back to B-town, Nebraska. I predominently lived there until this past May. So there you have it. I’m from Nebraska.

Nebraska helped shape me. I am who I am in a big way because of where I came from. This is one of my main arguments. I know you can’t trust your stereotypes or judgments but knowing where someone is from can often tell you quite a bit. If I was from California, meaning I spent most of my life there, or New Jersey, I’m pretty sure I would be totally different then who I am now. Scott says I put way too much thought into this but my “heritage” is important to me. It wasn’t so much until I left home but now I couldn’t imagine any better place to live then Nebraska. I couldn’t wait to move away but now I would do almost anything to get back. I’m proud to say I’m from Nebraska and hearing Scott say “You’re from Idaho now” sends me into instant mad-mode. I am most certainly not from Idaho and I don’t ever want to claim that. I’m not sure why. For some reason, I hate this place. It’s not that bad. I really don’t know what my beef is. Ha ha! Pun intended. But that kinda brings me into argument 2

How can I love someone so much who claims to be from somewhere I loathe so intensly? He’s one of the most incredible men I’ve ever been lucky enough to know. I can’t bring myself to give Idaho credit. Ick! I think maybe my resentment stems from having to be 1200-1300 miles away from my family and less then a block from his. They’re not bad at all but I guess I feel like it’s just not fair. It’d be nice to have the same ease of visiting with both families. That’s Brat-Sarah talking.

Also, not only can I not let this go, but Brittany brought to my attention that my desire to be “right” was so strong I stooped to polling people on where they say they’re from. I can gladly report that as of now, I’m in the lead 6-1! I win! What is my problem? Poor Scott. He has such a long road ahead of him….

About Brittany

Hello :). I'm Brittany! I'm a 20-something-year-old serving in the Air Force stumbling my way through life. I blog as a means of trying to figure myself out. Enjoy the journey:).

Leave a Reply

