RSS Feed

Turkey Taco Thing-a-mabobs

Here’s a little fun fact for ya, we are HUGE fans crescent rolls in this household and I love experimenting and making different creations with them. Today, I made little taco pockets. Mmm Mmm Mmm.

To make these you will need lean ground turkey, 1 packet of taco seasoning (I used McCormicks), Pillsbury crescent rolls (I used the reduced fat version…cut back where ya can, right?), Kraft Mexican Blend shredded cheese (I used the kind made with 2% milk), and Laughing Cow Light Queso Fresco & Chipotle wedges.

I started by browning the turkey in a skillet.

After the turkey was fully cooked, I added 3/4 cups of water (since the turkery was so lean, it didn’t need to be drained first).

Next, I added in the packet of taco seasoning,  brought it to a boil, and the mixture simmer for about 5 minutes to thicken.

Then I rolled out all the crescent rolls and spread a little Queso Fresco & Chipotle on each triangle. (I used about 1 wedge per every 4 crescents because this is plenty for us. You can use however much cheese you would like.)

After all the crescents were cheesed-up, I added about a spoonful of the taco meet to each triangle.

Finally, I folded up the crescent around the meat, sealed all the holes so they wouldn’t leak, and loaded them onto the pan. (I prefer to use my toaster over rather than the regular over whenever possible, I’m not really sure why. Just one of my quirks, I suppose.)

Before cooking them, I sprinkled a little shredded cheese on top to help act as a seal.

I then stuck them in the toaster over (which I had preheated to 375º) for about 12 minutes.

Drumroll please……

BAM! Perfect snack for a snowy afternoon. 🙂

These are 115% hubby approved. I mean he absolutely LOVED them. & So did I.

It’s a good thing I used reduced fat crescent rolls and lean ground turkey because I’m pretty sure I’ve already had a years worth of Reese’s miniatures and Reese’s trees today (thanks, Mommy!)…it’s not the holidays without Reese’s! 🙂

About Brittany

Hello :). I'm Brittany! I'm a 20-something-year-old serving in the Air Force stumbling my way through life. I blog as a means of trying to figure myself out. Enjoy the journey:).

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

