RSS Feed

Self Control…activate! (Now please)

Happy Friday, everyone! Brittany here. Don’t be too disappointed, Sarah will be back soon to finish her story, she sure knows how to leave off with a good cliffhanger. 🙂

So anyways… Remember how I was talking about the things I’ve been trying to avoid and blah, blah, blah? And remember how one of them was holiday goodies? Well, I failed. I failed miserably. Almost immediately after I finished writing that post, someone in my office brought in a tin of snicker doodles and sugar cookies that his wife had made. You would think that after writing all about self control and all that, I would have been able to control myself. Nope. Not even close. I had 6. Yup, 6 cookies. Not only that, I also had a Diet Mountain Dew on our way back from the gym (diet soda-another thing I was trying to avoid. dang it).

After those 6 cookies, I knew I needed to be sure to get in a great workout and still have a light dinner. So when I got to PT, I accomplished a treadmill workout that looked something like this (sugar hangover, and all):

Time Incline Speed
0-2:00 0.50% 6
2:00-4:00 0.50% 6.5
4:00-6:00 0.50% 7
6:00-7:00 0.50% 7.5
7:00-8:00 0.50% 8
8:00-10:00 0.50% 6
10:00-12:00 0.50% 6.5
12:00-14:00 0.50% 7
14:00-15:00 0.50% 7.5
15:00-16:00 0.50% 8
16:00-20:00 2.50% 4
20:00-22:00 0.50% 6
22:00-24:00 0.50% 6.5
24:00-26:00 0.50% 7
26:00-27:00 0.50% 7.5
27:00-28:00 0.50% 8
28:00-30:00 2.50% 4
30:00-32:00 0.50% 6
32:00-34:00 0.50% 6.5
34:00-36:00 0.50% 7
36:00-37:00 0.50% 7.5
37:00-38:00 0.50% 8
38:00-40:00 2.50% 4

I didn’t plan on having that many walk intervals. But my sugar hangover was giving me the tummy ache from hell. :/

Then, after this treadmill workout, I headed to Erick’s gym and we did shoulder day together. I left filling like I had worked off the majority of those cookies :).

Now, before I explain how I lightened up dinner, let me just say that if anyone of you love carbs as much as I do, this is going to sound bat-shit crazy to you. That’s ok. I completely understand. I felt bat-shit crazy when I was putting it together. BUT, there was no way I was going to miss spaghetti night and I was desperate. So I got started and made the spaghetti sauce using 96% lean ground beef and Ragu that contains 2 full servings of vegetables. I always put shredded cheese in my sauce so I used Kraft 2% Milk Mexican Blend. Then, I made half a package of whole wheat noodles for Erick (he didn’t know they were whole wheat. he also didn’t know there were 2 servings of vegetables in the sauce. Domesticated housewife-2, Erick-0). Now, here’s where it gets crazy. I thought to myself, “Hmmm, I wonder how it would taste if I just steamed just veggies and served the sauce over those.” No… I wasn’t in the mood for broccoli, green beans, or cauliflower. So that wasn’t going to work. Then I checked my fridge and I had a bag and a half of fresh spinach that is due to expire on Sunday. Yup…I went there. I put about 3 cups of spinach on my plate and then spooned spaghetti sauce over that. Let me tell you, it was awesome! I didn’t even miss the pasta and I swear to you I am a carb-oholic. DON’T KNOCK IT TIL YOU TRY IT. 🙂

So, I think I made up for those 6 cookies AND still got to have spaghetti…kinda. Oh, also, I made my hubby eat sorta healthy and he still  has no idea. I’d say it was a successful night. Hopefully, I can get my self-control in check for the rest of the holiday season…

Speaking of self-control. I went to Wal-Mart today to get some pictures printed and then I decided I was in the mood to bake! So I picked up a box of Funfetti cake mix, some Diet Cherry 7-Up, and a can of Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting to make my favorite funfetti cupcakes. I think they’re my favorite because they’re SO easy. All you do is mix the box of cake mix with one can of soda and then bake at 350° for about 20 min…simple as can be! This is them, pre-frosting:


Mmmmm, I can’t wait to have one…just one…I hope. I think another reason they’re my favorite is because normally I don’t like cupcakes or cake because I think it’s just too dry (I prefer brownies, cheesecake, cookies, etc.), but when I make them this way, with the diet soda instead of the oil & eggs, they come out super moist and delicious!

Also, while I was at Wal-Mart. I decided I want to experiment a little. I love experimenting while baking. I once read about making a cake using just a box of Angel Food Cake mix and a can of fruit pie filling (any fruit you’d like), and this sounded delicious and SO simple. So I decided I was going to try this…in my mini muffin pan! I got a box of angel food cake mix and a can of raspberry pie filling.


I looooove raspberry and I figured it’d be really delicious if I frost these cupcakes with the same cream cheese frosting I got for the funfetti cupcakes. I mixed the cake mix and pie filling and this is what it looked like:


I’m getting a little nervous because the batter is kind of fluffing up, like a marshmallow. But, I’ve never made angel food cake before, so I’m not sure if this is normal.

This is them after I put the batter into the pan:


I baked them at 350° for about 25 min and this is how they came out:


Obviously, I kinda suck at using just the right amount of batter for each cupcake, but oh well.  I taste-tested one with no frosting and I thought it was pretty darn good. The texture was a little different, but maybe that’s because you’re not supposed to make angel food cake cupcakes…whatev. I’ll let you know how they are after I frost them and find out if they’re “hubby approved.”

Well, I better go get to frostin’. Later gators!

About Brittany

Hello :). I'm Brittany! I'm a 20-something-year-old serving in the Air Force stumbling my way through life. I blog as a means of trying to figure myself out. Enjoy the journey:).

Leave a Reply

