RSS Feed

Things I’ve Been Avoiding Like the Plague…

Hello, Brittany here! Still feelin’ a little depressed/jet lagged since Hawaii, as well as verrrrry chubby. Only one month til the big day so I really gotta whip  myself back into shape…PRONTO! But, in order to not get discouraged, I have been avoiding the scale…big time. I already know I’ve gained a few pounds, I can feel it. I don’t need a scale to tell me. I totally did not pay attention to what I ate in Hawaii. Although I was very active most of the time, I wasn’t that active. I’m talkin’ ice cream almost everyday, massive plates of sushi (not the healthy kind), and lots of spam, eggs, and rice.  And now, I’m going to be kicking myself for it until I get back to where I was. I hate being like this because I really enjoyed myself and didn’t stress over every calorie. I need to get better about not being so hard on myself because it really takes it’s toll on me, as well as my relationship. Instead of focusing on the fact that I probably gained a few pounds (which probably isn’t noticeable to anyone but me), I’m just going to focus on being healthy and treating my body right. So far, I’ve been doing really well. I’ve gone to the gym everyday since we’ve been back and it’s been tough. I can definitely feel the altitude here…I still gotta readjust. I’ve been eating lots of lean protein and veggies (trying to detox from all the junk food). AND I’ve been trying to get to bed early in order to get the right amount of sleep.  But, I’m trying NOT to stress about it because that is not healthy and that is not how to treat my body right.

Another thing I’ve been avoiding is work…hehe :). I’m getting really good at it, too. I got back from leave yesterday so I had a short week anyways. But then my supervisor handed me my certificate for a free day off for getting over a 90 on my PT test. So, naturally, I turned right around and said “Soooo, can I use this Friday?” And he says, “Yup, add it to the calendar.” So, there ya have it folks… my 3-day week just turned into a 2-day week which makes today my Friday :). On top of that, I am off from next Monday (the 19th) through the Monday after Christmas (the 26th) for Christmas break. Yup, I’ve been very spoiled lately.  I’m not sure how I’m going to handle it when I have to actually come into work for a full 5-day week. 

A few other things I’ve been trying to avoid:

-diet soda (I’m trying to only have tea or coffee when I need caffeine because I know it’s healthier and better for your body)

-filling up my gas tank (it is sooo cold outside compared to Hawaii and I don’t want to get out and fill up my tank. Yes, I am seriously THAT lazy. I’m going to make Erick do it tonight, though, because it’s getting pretty low :/)

-eating out (I went grocery shopping as soon as we got back from Hawaii so I’m trying to get better about eating at home because 1. it saves money 2. it’s usually healthier and 3. I need to stop going through drive-throughs/stopping at the Shoppette just because it’s more convenient. Laziness is not cute on anyone.)

-holiday goodies (in my office, around this time of year, it seems like someone brings in some type of treat nearly every day. Which wouldn’t be a problem if I had self control. I don’t. One cookie turns into two, and before I know it, I’ve eaten half the container. embarrassing.)

-being so hard on Erick (I am extremely critical of myself and, many times, I end up being the same towards Erick. He tries very hard and I can imagine it’s gotta be super frustrating to feel like he’s never good enough. I’ve gotta to start being better about praising him and letting him know how much I appreciate him.)

I think that’s about it. Ever since we’ve gotten back from Hawaii, I’ve been on this kick where I really want to better myself. I want to stop working out and eating healthy to be skinnier and/or lighter and do it to feel better about myself and have a healthier lifestyle. It’s much easier to stay motivated that way. I also want to stop being so judgmental…you never know what someone has been through and I am in no position to judge people for any reason. I’ve had an amazing life, so many wonderful opportunities, and the most awesome family I could ever imagine, and I really need to be more appreciative and grateful. STOP FOCUSING ON THE NEGATIVE. (I’m not yelling at you, I’m yelling at myself :)).

Today, so far, I’ve had egg whites and salsa for breakfast and steamed veggies and coffee for my morning snack. I’ve got a spinach and grilled chicken salad planned for lunch and the hubby requested spaghetti for dinner (this won’t be an issue as long as I can control my portions…maybe some veggies on the side will help with that). I also have PT after work today and I’ve got a nice cardio session on the treadmill planned, followed by a shoulder workout. See, so far so good :). Forget what the scale says, I feel GREAT.

**This is my entire fam-damily. I am SO blessed and I miss them all SO much.**

About Brittany

Hello :). I'm Brittany! I'm a 20-something-year-old serving in the Air Force stumbling my way through life. I blog as a means of trying to figure myself out. Enjoy the journey:).

One response »

  1. Anna told me something I really liked! “We see 80% of our flaws but not to worry because everyone else only sees about 20%” That’s not very many! Ummm…the way she said it was very helpful. This way doesn’t sound that inspirational….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

