RSS Feed

I had an epiphany…

Posted on

20111202-202736.jpg

This picture has nothing to do with my epiphany, I just agree with it completely. Now that that’s settled, let me start from the beginning.

By far, the scariest part of this whole ‘getting married’ thing has been changing my name. Ever since the topic even came up I’ve been scared out of my mind. Not due to commitment issues (like Sarah), but because I felt like I was losing a part of myself. A Botsford is who I’ve been my whole life and I felt like my last name kind of made me who I am. I was also worried that by changing my last name, I was going to lose my family. This fear put knots in my stomach and broke my heart into a million pieces. But, I knew how much it meant to Erick for me to take his name, so I fought my fear and did it.

Then, I realized something. Yesterday, as I was waiting in the gym for Erick to pull the car around (it was cold outside and I’m a princess), I started thinking about how amazing he is and everything he does for me and how he bends over backwards to make sure I’m happy and then it hit me! I’m not losing anything at all… I’m still a Botsford. I always will be. And I know my family will always be my family. Nothing can ever change that, even if I wanted to (j/k, j/k! I would NEVER want that). However, I AM gaining something amazing. Erick is now a part of me for the rest of my life and that makes me smile from ear to ear just thinking about it. Although I will always be a Botsford at heart, I am now a Poole and I’m so excited to, one day (a few years down the road), start our own family as amazing as both of ours. So, even though changing my name was really hard for me, I’ve realized that it’s actually a good thing. I’m NOT losing… I’m gaining :).

Anyways, I better get going. It’s time to watch my favorite movie, How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the one with Jim Carrey, obviously!), and snuggle up on the couch. Night all!

That IS a great epiphany. And it’s true. I’m so glad she found Erick and tacked his name to hers because he makes life hilarious! She is certainly a special someone who deserves a great catch like him. I, too, had an epiphany (Hold on to your belts – this is life changing):

Hahahaha! I love Jamaican accents! They’re the best. Ever. I’ve got to be honest. This may very well be the best December of my life! Caleb’s three now and, I’m pretty sure, the funnest boy ever to walk the earth. Yesterday, before Scott left for work we decided to play a quick game of Life. That’s right. The box says ages 9+ but Caleb rocks it! Anyhow, he landed on “Sue someone for $100,000.” Guess who he sues? Daddy! He didn’t even have to think about it! This happened three times in one game and every time daddy was paying out the pocket! The final time Scott tried to reason with Caleb “Look, mommy is winning. She has lots of dollars! Daddy has loans from the bank. Are you sure you want to sue daddy? Mommy’s going to win the whole game if you do.” Caleb glances at my stack, then turns his focus back on Scott. “I sue daddy.” Ah, that’s my boy!

 This morning we danced for probably a good 30 minutes in the kitchen to National Geographic Christmas music. I’m not talking your average joe “let’s jump up and down and maybe tap our toes a little.” This boy was doing long pull throughs, partnered kart wheels, seat spins, flips, flops, and floodles all over the place! Just before that, we made a Christmas tree out of his hand prints followed by his own crazy paint creation. Tonight, we saw Arthur’s Christmas and let me tell ya’ – it’s goooood! No. Not even good. It’s fantastic! I loooooved it! Tonight, after all our wonderful activities I asked Caleb what his favorite part of the day was. His response? “Picking out TWO candies from the store!” Well, there it is folks. The secret to a great day is candy!

I don’t know how I got so lucky to have this incredible family but I feel so blessed. That change in attitude I took a vow to has helped me see what I had been missing. Instead of seeing messes, I’m seeing memories. Instead of feeling fat, I’m grateful for my full belly and full heart.  Life is too amazing to be crushed by negativity. Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

2 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh….you just make me so freaking proud! I love you so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

